In Som Night #3

For a second, I thought I am making a mistake. Empty streets. We could easily get caught. We should have waited for the peak hours. But then, can’t trust luck. The sooner we leave the city, the sooner we are out of trouble.

For Previous episodes:

In Som Night #1

InSomNight: #2 Road to Sleepless Night


In Som Night 3:

Void. An endless void. That’s what I could see. I could still smell the fresh paint on the walls. I don’t even know how long I was here.

Calling Bell rang. Went to the door.

It was my uncle.

“What on earth, are you doing here? Do you even have any idea how long we have been searching for you ?”

After a pause, “sil..Silence.” was my reply.

“What?”

“I wanted sil…. I wanted to be alone for sometime “

“Still thinking about the incident? “

I just nodded my head.

“Just don’t think about it anymore…”

“I know. But I can’t help it.”

“Did you speak to your sister?”

“No. I don’t have the courage to meet her..”

“She had a shock when she heard the news. She didn’t even shed tears. We thought she was strong at first, but never knew that it completely broke her inside. She had been thinking about it all the night and the next morning she had slipped to coma.”

“For five days. I know.”

“At-least talk to her over phone.”

“I will. I have to. She is the only one I have left.”

“Ok. Come, Lets go. You aunt was worried about you.”

“About that … I actually wanted to stay here. Just ask the electrician to finish the remaining work.”

“What ?”

“It’s my father’s dream house. I have to finish it.”

A sigh for a second.

A smile for split second, followed his chuckle.

Took a week. The concrete emotional baggage started to shine brightly!

For a second, I thought I am making a mistake by leaving the hideout in early morning. Empty streets. We could easily get caught. We should have waited for the peak hours. But then, can’t trust luck. The sooner we leave the city, the sooner we are out of trouble.

“I don’t think it’s a good idea.”

“Just wear the hood and come out”. She came out.

“Walk relaxed. You should look like you are going for an early morning jog. Just keep your ears open. When I say run, just run with me. Don’t go out of my sight. Got it? “

“Yeah.”

5:30 AM. Cold frosty December.

“Take left. Don’t go for the main routes.”

“Ok. Yeah.”

“You are still not relaxed.”

“I know. Can’t help it. Everyone are looking right at us.”

“No, They aren’t. You are. Just stay calm.”

“Ok.”

Few streets later.

“Wait.”

“What ?”

“Turn back.”

“Why? What happened?”

“Just turn back.”

“What happened?”

“I will tell you later… We need to walk towards that tea shop. I will do the talking.”

“Okay.”

We reached the tea shop. I got a cigarette and a milk packet.

We walked in the same direction.

“I think, someone is following us.”

“I know. Here hold this packet. Take the next left.”

I stayed back. The stranger stopped. I went near him.

“Excuse me… Do you have lighter?”

A swift silent knock.

“He had a gun?”

“I know, That’s his lighter.”

“Why don’t you take it?”

“We should hide in plain sight. Gun in our hands, not a good option.”

“He is not moving. Are you sure that you didn’t kill him?”

“No, Just a powerful knock. 6 hrs max. We should move.”


Written by SGA Thomas

All rights reserved.
© Ganesh.M, 2017.

Author: limatgans

homo sapien , Idoit , loves to write programs, Short film Director and a Dramatist

One thought on “In Som Night #3”

Leave a comment